2023 Award Recipients Announced

A huge congratulations to our 2023 WA award recipients. It was our pleasure to welcome 85 attendees to our awards ceremony on 20th March 2024 at the Mt Lawley Bowling Club – an event to celebrate the extraordinary volunteer effort of the people who are the lifeblood of EdConnect. We are so proud of the collective contribution of our volunteers to the education and learning of primary and secondary students in Western Australia.

We are pleased to announce our winners were:

  • Mentor of the Year: Bill Smith, Kalamunda Senior High School
  • Learning Support Volunteer of the Year: Kerry Sadlier, Success Primary School
  • School Coordinators of the Year: Shelley Giles and Lisa Satie, Shenton College
  • Alcoa Foundation Peel Volunteer of the Year: Jane Lawton, Coodanup College
  • Hanrine Foundation Pilbara Mentor of the Year: Georgie Rose, Hedland Senior High School
  • Rising Star of the Year: Don Titterton, Flinders Park Primary School Albany
  • Special Mention of the Year: Richard Van Proctor, John Forrest Secondary College
  • South West Volunteer of the Year: Susan Hawkins, Augusta Primary School
  • + four fabulous Learning Support Teachers who were recognised on the evening

The annual EdConnect Australia  WA Volunteer Awards recognise and celebrate the commitment and passion demonstrated by school volunteers.

EdConnect Australia CEO, Michael Pailthorpe, expressed his gratitude towards all EdConnect volunteers, emphasizing the vital role they play in supporting over 10,000 young people in Western Australian primary and secondary schools.

“The EdConnect annual awards acknowledge and celebrate the dedication and commitment of over 600 volunteers in 176 schools in Western Australia who provide vital mentoring and learning support to young people” said Michael.

For Media Enquiries

Carol Shannon
WA General Manager
0477 030 032