EdConnect Australia Board Members

Elena Mogilevski


BA (Hons)

Elena was appointed as Chairperson in November of 2020.

Elena’s career spans across academia, philanthropy and the not for profit sector. In her current role as CEO of CoDesign Studio, she is working on data-driven innovations to improve mental health of all Australians. Previously, Elena was the CEO of St Kilda Community Housing, helping some of the most marginalised people in our community to secure affordable accommodation.

As a Senior Executive with The Myer Foundation and the Sidney Myer Fund, Elena managed an extensive portfolio of programs including Education, Sustainability & Environment, Myer Innovation Fellowships, Impact Investment and overall strategic direction.

Elena is deeply passionate about improving the educational outcomes and wellbeing of all students.

Margaret Banks

Deputy Chair

AIT, TC, Grad Dip Soc Sc.

Margaret Banks was appointed to the EdConnect Board in June 2020m and to Deputy Chair in November of 2020.

Margaret Banks held leadership positions in education at the highest levels for the past two decades in two jurisdictions as Deputy Director General, WA; Chief Executive, NT; and in the Senior Executive Service for the Australian Government.  She received national recognition from professional associations and the media for her work in education. She has been a teacher, university lecturer and international consultant.

She retired from full time employment in 2015 and since then participated in voluntary and consultancy activities including in the employment sector and as a member of boards.

Joseph Hoe

Company Secretary

JP, CFP®, CTA, FCPA, MTax, FAIM, SF Fin, SSA SMSF Specialist Advisor™

Appointed as a Director in 2016. Mr Hoe has significant experience in the financial planning industry since 1998 and is currently the Senior Financial Planner of Wealthwise.

Money Management has named Joseph Hoe, the national Financial Planner of the Year 2016, which recognises excellence in the financial planning profession and in our communities. In addition, he participates actively on boards of several non-profit organisations and provides consultation and aid to a variety of charities.

He is a Senior Fellow member of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia (FINSIA), Fellow members of CPA (Australia) and Australia Institute of Management. He is also a SMSF Specialist from the SMSF Association and is a Certified Financial Planner ® practitioner.

Dr Anne Mathews

Non Executive Director


Dr Anne Mathews was appointed as Non-Executive Director in 2012.

Anne has a PhD degree from the Australian National University and extensive teaching and research experience having worked at The Australian National University, CSIRO and The University of Western Australia. Following this, she has worked in State Government agencies in the areas of training, science and innovation, Indigenous issues, disability and environment and has held senior management and executive roles.

Anne is a Fellow of Leadership WA and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and serves as Non-Executive Director on several not-for-profit Boards.

David Barwise

Non Executive Director


David Barwise has over 20 years legal, regulatory and compliance experience within the legal industry in Australia, Europe and Asia.

David was a partner in a leading global law firm for 15 years, a member of its European management board, held a variety of product, client and regional management positions and acted as the relationship partner for a number of financial institutions.

David is a director of Gyrostat Capital Management, Gyrostat Capital Management Advisers and Gyrostat Downside Protection Australian Equities Advisers.

He has worked in Australia, London and Singapore, and holds a variety of post graduate qualifications in law, business, accounting, finance, corporate governance and risk management.

Ben Peacock

Non Executive Director

Ben was appointed to the EdConnect Australia Board in November 2018.

Ben is founder of Republic of Everyone, a company that pioneers innovative ways to make social and environmental causes more commercially compelling.  He is co-founder of the Garage Sale Trail, Australia’s number one community day and Grow it Local, a grassroots movement to encourage more people to grow food in their own backyards.

He believes strongly in both the experience of age and energy of youth and is especially enamored by the possibilities when the two are brought together.

Ben is also Director of the Future Business Council and the Blue Mountains World Heritage Institute.

Sam Rosevear

Non Executive Director

Sam Rosevear was appointed as a Non–Executive Director in 2020.

Sam is Executive Director of Strategy, Impact and Policy at Headspace, an organisation that supports the mental health and wellbeing of young people.  He joined Headspace from Beyond Blue, where he played a similar role.

Sam has a strong commitment to education.  He worked on strategy, policy advocacy and government relations as Chief of Staff to Vice-Chancellor Glyn Davis at the University of Melbourne.  He worked closely with government to help to secure ongoing funding for Teach For Australia, an organisation that recruits Australia’s top talent to be teachers in schools in low income communities.

Sam has been a Policy Deputy Secretary in the Victorian Government, and worked for 15 years in the Federal Government in departments including Treasury, Finance and Prime Minister and Cabinet.